Chinese mythological pendants:

A little project I am working on at the moment, making pendants based on Chinese mythological creatures. The creatures include; a fu lion, a kylin, a phoenix and a dragon koi.

I sculpted my designs using white plasticine, and casted them in plaster. Once the paster cast was dry I scraped out the plasticine originals. Because the original sculptures were destroyed I decided to make backup copies from liquid latex.

So far I have been making pendants from “sculpty clay”, pressing the softened clay into the moulds. I hope to produce some more expensive versions from paper porcelain, with coloured glazes.

Leave a Reply

